Class Notes

March 28th, 2012 Posted in Class notes/In memoriam


Herbert Woodward Martin (A/S ’64), professor emeritus of English at the University of Dayton, gave the December commencement address at Central Michigan University and was awarded an honorary doctor of letters degree. The Dayton resident was also inducted into the city’s Walk of Fame.


Gary Thieman (Bus ’71), senior vice president of sales and customer relations for commercial business with health insurance company Medical Mutual of Ohio, was appointed to the UT Board of Trustees by Ohio Gov. John Kasich for a term ending in 2017.

Nancy J. Sattler PhD (A/S ’72, MEd ’88, PhD ’04), Fremont, was elected to a six-year term as president of the American Mathematical Association of Two-Year Colleges, a national organization for college mathematics teachers.

Paul Wright (Law ’78), founder of Wright Law Co. LPA of Dublin, Ohio, received a Distinguished Service Award from the Ohio Farm Bureau Federation in December.


Ron Binder PhD (Ed ’83, Ed ’83), associate dean of student affairs at the University of Pittsburgh at Bradford, received the highest honor of the Association of Fraternity/Sorority Advisors (AFA) — the Robert H. Shaffer Award — at the AFA’s annual meeting in St. Louis. He also became co-chair of the Fraternity and Sorority Knowledge Community of NASPA, the leading association of the student affairs profession.

Harold R. Reed (Bus ’85), Maumee, was appointed to the new post of chief operating officer with The Andersons Inc., with responsibility for the company’s grain, ethanol, plant nutrients, rail and turf and specialty groups. He’s been with the company since 1980, most recently as president of the grain and ethanol group.

William A. Young Jr. (MBA ’87) was appointed president and CEO of St. John Medical Center in Westlake, Ohio, which is co-owned by the Sisters of Charity Health System and University Hospitals.

Christopher Ingersoll PhD (PhD ’89), dean of the Herbert H. and Grace A. Dow College of Health Professions at Central Michigan University, was named the UT Judith Herb College of Education, Health Science and Human Service Outstanding Alumnus in October.


Nicholas Richardson PhD (PhD ’97), associate professor of chemistry at Wagner College, State Island, N.Y., received the Excellence in Service award at the annual Faculty Awards Dinner in November.


Tiffany Gray (A/S ’04) was appointed associate director of the LGBT Resource Center within Syracuse University’s Division of Student Affairs.

Kathryn (Sterling) Keating (Bus ’05), Maumee, was promoted to talent acquisition officer in the human resources division of Fifth Third Bank, where she has worked since 2006.

Marriages & unions

Keri E. Schreckengost (MBA ’09) and Jason Tarbert. She’s a contract specialist for the U.S. Air Force Research Laboratory at Kirtland AFB in Albuquerque, N.M.


Erin (Hundley) Carter (HHS ’01) and her husband Kyle, Lansing, Mich. welcomed their daughter Emma Rose in July.

Extended Class Notes

Mike Reilly (Ed ’76), known worldwide as “the voice of Ironman,” was inducted into the Ironman Triathlon Hall of Fame at the event’s world championships in Kona, Hawaii, in October. The event marked Mike’s 23rd year at the microphone; he’s worked 109 Ironman competitions since 1989.
Almost a quarter-million athletes crossed the finish line hearing Mike’s delivery of “You are an Ironman!” One of the founders and current vice president of the Active Network ( in San Diego, Calif., Mike has been in the endurance game for 30 years and stays an active participant, crediting his past as a

Rocket wrestler for the internal strength to finish. Click here for details.

Death Notices


Clyde W. Sweet II, Findlay, att. 1939-1941 and in 1940s, Dec. 8 at 90.


**Donald K. Cameron MD (Bus ’41, A/S ’49), Sylvania Twp., Dec. 1 at 92.

Doris (Northrup) Redway (Ed ’45), Toledo, Dec. 6 at 88.

Ralph F. Drescher (Ed ’48), Toledo, Dec. 24 at 86.

**Wilbur A. Taylor Jr. MD (A/S ’49), Findlay, Dec. 10 at 83. Sigma Beta Phi, Alpha Epsilon Delta member.


*Judge Robert V. Franklin Jr. (Law ’50), Toledo, Nov. 29 at 85. The first minority on two local benches, he also served on the UT Board of Trustees from 1988 to 1997. In 1982, UT presented him with the Gold T Award, honoring outstanding professional success. Five years later, he received the Distinguished Attorney Award from the UT Law Alumni Association. The community leader also served on the UT Alumni Foundation Board of Directors.

William M. Holmes (Pharm ’50), Apex, N.C., Dec. 23 at 84.

Marion “Marney” E. (Willard) Jewell (Ed ’50, MEd ’81), Edmonds, Wash., Oct. 20 at 86. Delta Kappa Gamma member.

Richard A. Gerlinger (A/S ’51), Bermuda Village, N.C., Nov. 23 at 83. Sigma Chi member.

**James Hipp (Eng ’51), Toledo, Dec. 19 at 83.

John P. Weed Jr. (Bus ’51), Sylvania, Dec. 8 at 84.

Gilberta A. (Hofbauer) Finch, Sylvania, att. 1952-1954, Dec. 8 at 77.

Rev. John E. Lester (Ed ’52), Sylvania, Nov. 26 at 81.


Fred R. Henzler, Toledo, att. 1960s and 1970s, Dec. 12 at 81.

Philip Rymers PhD (MA ’60), Jasper, Ga., July 14 at 82.

Richard B. Calaway (Bus ’62), Fuquay-Varina, N.C., Nov. 3 at 75.

Judge Michael T. Russell (Bus ’62), Portola Valley, Calif., Nov. 28 at 71.

John T. Holzemer (UTCTC ’64, Bus ’74), San Ramon, Calif., Oct. 9 at 68.

**Joe Moran (Bus ’67), Naples, Fla., Dec. 7 at 67. Alpha Sigma Phi, Alpha Kappa Psi member.


James F. Romaker (Bus ’73), Lima, Nov. 29 at 64.

Jessie (McCormick) Sporek (Ed Spec ’73), Sylvania, Nov. 22 at 86.

Richard L. Zolman (Univ Coll ’74), Elmore, Dec. 25 at 77.

Deborah J. Bocian (UTCTC ’76), Toledo, Dec. 8 at 60.


Harry J. Jackson (UTCTC ’81), Hilliard, Ohio, Dec. 4 at 65.

Josephine E. Shaw (UTCTC ’84), Toledo, Dec. 9 at 63.

Kathryn VanBrandt (Bus ’84), Ottawa Lake, Mich., Dec. 17 at 71.


Keith C. “KC” Kreps (Ed ’96), Bettsville, Ohio, Sept. 10 at 58.

Gregory A. O’Dell (Law ’96), Ann Arbor, Mich., Dec. 23 at 54.

Delores G. (Moore) Moman (UTCTC ’97, Univ Coll ’97), Toledo, Dec. 11 at 73.


Nathalie A. (Hilaire) Jones (MS ’04), West Palm Beach, Fla., July 26 at 38.

Faculty, Staff & Friends

Dallas Garber PhD (PhD ’77), Toledo, who served as director of the Student Union from 1971 until his retirement in 1992, Dec. 5 at 72.

Evelyn R. (Wauters Kimerer) Gozdowski, Holland, UT cashier from 1982 to 1984, Dec. 7 at 90.

Leonard T. Kubiak, National City, Mich., UT custodian from 1986 until his 1997 retirement, Nov. 19 at 76.

Lucien E. Morris MD, Rollingbay, Wash., faculty member at MCO from 1970 until his 1985 retirement who was named professor emeritus of anesthesia in 1987, Nov. 15 at 96. In 1970, he was appointed founding chair of the Department of Anesthesia; he developed the private practice plan for clinical physicians, established the Anesthesia Residency Program and served as chief of staff of the hospital. Morris was known for designing a precision anesthesia vaporizer system known as the “copper kettle” that for more than two decades was used as a standard apparatus in most U.S. teaching hospitals. Morris received an honorary doctor of science degree from MCO in 1994.

Julius J. Nagy, Toledo, former MCO maintenance employee, Dec. 8 at 90.

Robert F. Smith PhD, Ottawa Hills, professor of history and part of the first group of faculty to receive the Distinguished University Professor designation, Nov. 24 at 81. He joined the UT faculty in 1969 as professor of history, earning tenure in 1971. His 1986 Distinguished Professor honor was part of the  University’s Program for Academic Excellence. The author of several books, one of which won the 1973 book award of the Ohio Academy of History, he served on a number of committees that included those with a focus on Latin American studies. He retired in 1992.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Did you like this? Share it: