University of Toledo honors alumni who have distinguished themselves

October 27th, 2017 Posted in From Our Alumni

Pictured from left, Michelle Carey, the Hon. Nancy Miller, Alumni Association President Dr. Lee Johnson, University of Toledo President Sharon L. Gaber, Dan Saevig, Associate Vice President of the Office of Alumni and Annual Engagement, and Dr. Julian Kim.

The University of Toledo Alumni Association recognized three outstanding alumni with its most prestigious awards — the Gold T, Blue T and Edward H. Schmidt Outstanding Young Alum Award — at the Homecoming Alumni Gala and Awards Ceremony on Friday, Oct. 6. These honorees were joined by distinguished alumni from each UT college, who also were honored.

The Gold T is presented to a UT graduate in recognition of outstanding achievement in his or her field of endeavor while providing leadership and noteworthy service to the community.

The 2017 winner of the Gold T is Dr. Julian Kim of Shaker Heights, Ohio. Kim, a renowned expert in the treatment of patients with melanoma, breast cancer, soft tissue sarcomas and gastrointestinal malignancies, graduated from the College of Medicine and Life Sciences in 1986. Chief of oncologic surgery and chief medical officer at the Seidman Cancer Center of University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center and the Charles Hubay Professor of Surgery at Case Western Reserve University, Kim holds the U.S. patent for a novel research discovery in adoptive immunotherapy for cancer. His breakthrough process takes immune cells from a cancer patient and activates them in a laboratory in order to infuse them back into the patient to treat the cancer. Clinical trials in patients with advanced melanoma have proven successful, with the treatment helping to slow the advancement of the cancer. His treatment process is being used to assist pancreatic cancer patients. Prior to joining the Seidman Cancer Center in 2006, Kim served as director of the Melanoma Program at the Cleveland Clinic. Seidman Cancer Center is one of only 42 cancer hospitals nationwide.

The Blue T is presented to a UT Alumni Association member and UT graduate who has made outstanding contributions to the progress and development of the Alumni Association and University.

The Hon. Nancy Miller, of Sylvania, Ohio, is the 2017 honoree. Chief magistrate of Lucas County Probate Court, Miller holds three degrees from The University of Toledo: a bachelor of arts in psychology/sociology, 1977, a master of education in community agency counseling, 1979, and a juris doctor from the College of Law, 1988. A member of the executive committee of the Alumni Association’s Board of Trustees for which she serves as secretary, Miller also is chair of the policy and procedures committee for Women & Philanthropy at UT. Recipient of the Henry Herschel Commitment Award in 2015 from the College of Law Alumni Affiliate, she is a member of the Dean’s Advisory Board in the College of Law. Miller is a major donor to numerous campus organizations, including the Medical Research Society, Women & Philanthropy and the College of Law. A past president of the Lucas County Bar Association and the Toledo Women’s Bar Association, Miller was the first ombudsman for Lucas County Children Services. She has received national acclaim for her work in protecting children.

The Edward H. Schmidt Outstanding Young Alum Award is presented to a University graduate who is 35 years old or younger in recognition of outstanding achievement in his or her field of endeavor, while providing leadership and noteworthy service to the Alumni Association, University or community. This award is named in memory of Edward Schmidt, a 1942 alumnus and a longtime supporter of the University and its Alumni Association.

The 2017 recipient of this award is Dr. Michelle Carey, of Temperance, Mich. Carey earned a bachelor of science degree from the College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences in 2011 and was awarded the doctor of pharmacy degree from that college in 2013, when she was the class valedictorian. An active community volunteer, Carey is a clinical pharmacist for St. Luke’s Hospital Anticoagulation Service. Carey also is secretary of the Toledo Academy of Pharmacy, a member of the American Pharmacists Association’s national new practitioner communications and networking committee, and a member of the UT Alumni Association’s Board of Trustees. She regularly volunteers at the University community care clinic, Notre Dame Academy, Blessed Sacrament Church and Bedford Goodfellows.

Honored by their respective colleges, these distinguished alumni also were recognized during the gala ceremony on Oct. 6:

  • Nancy Preis ’71, ’74, College of Arts and Letters
  • Gary Thieman ’71, College of Business and Innovation
  • Susan Abu-Absi ’96, College of Engineering
  • Dawn M. Buskey ’88, College of Health and Human Services
  • José D. Padilla, J.D. ’80, Judith Herb College of Education
  • The Hon. Roderick Kennedy ’80, College of Law
  • Samir Khleif ’90, College of Medicine and Life Sciences
  • Louanne Stratton ’76, ’80, ’85, College of Nursing
  • Leon McDougle ’85, College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics
  • Albert Wright Jr. ’96, College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • The Hon. Gene Zmuda ’81, ’84, Jesup Scott Honors College
  • Daniel C. Smith ’80, ’82, University College

To view the videos of each recipient from the 12 degree-granting colleges and the Gold T, Blue T and Edward H. Schmidt Outstanding Young Alum Awardees, visit:

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Did you like this? Share it: